Today Cash logo

Today Cash Active

Menominee Indian Tribe (attribution circumstantial) · lending since 2021

Today Cash caps first-time borrowers at $600 as a deliberate on-ramp, hides its ~775% APR until you sign, and reserves a 15% wage-assignment clause it invokes at default.

2.2/10 TribalLenders score
Cost & transparency
1.5
Terms & flexibility
3.0
Funding speed
6.0
Complaint record
1.5
Legal standing
2.0

Today Cash at a glance

Owning tribe
Menominee Indian Tribe (attribution circumstantial)
Lending since
2021
Loan amounts
$100–$1,500
APR range (reported)
≈775%checked Jul 2026
Website
todaycash.com

What a Today Cash loan really costs

Today Cash lends $100–$1,500, with first-time borrowers capped at $600 — a deliberately small on-ramp. It does not disclose the APR before you sign; Trustpilot borrowers report around 775%. One complaint describes a $1,002.91 loan requiring $508 a month for six months, which the borrower called fraudulent.

The fees, at least, are stated plainly: $30 NSF, $20 late (10+ days past due), and $5 for same-day funding. Standard funding is next business day if approved before 4 p.m. Central.

Where it's less bad
  • Small $600 first-time cap limits initial exposure.
  • Discloses its flat-dollar fees ($30 NSF, $20 late, $5 expedited).
What to watch
  • APR (~775%) is not shown before you sign.
  • A 15% involuntary wage-assignment clause surfaces at default.
  • Aggressive weekly collection contact, even on on-time accounts.
  • Publishes no excluded-states list, shifting compliance risk to you.

Skip Today Cash if…

  • You want to see the APR before you apply — it publishes none; the rate appears only in the agreement.

Where Today Cash lends

Unlike some peers, Today Cash publishes no excluded-states list — which shifts the compliance risk onto you. Confirm your state's rules before borrowing.

Does Today Cash report to credit bureaus?

Today Cash verifies applicants through Clarity, DataX and FactorTrust and 'may pull your credit,' but shows no sign of reporting on-time payments to the major bureaus — so it will not build credit.

Who actually owns and runs Today Cash

Today Cash is operated by Loon Lending, LLC, an instrumentality of the Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin, registered in Keshena, WI. Its loans are governed by 'federal law and the laws of the Tribe, not the law of the state where you reside.'

It is a sister brand to Northern Star Lending under the same tribe, so borrowers are often cross-solicited between the two. The actual non-tribal back-office operator is not publicly disclosed.

The wage-assignment clause

The complaint pattern that stands out for Today Cash is collection: aggressive weekly contact, accounts pushed to 'collections' despite on-time payment, and — most notably — an involuntary wage-assignment notice threatening a 15% payroll deduction, alongside reports of identity-theft and fraudulent accounts.

A wage assignment can be revoked in writing at any time; if you receive one, send a written revocation to Today Cash and your payroll department.

What Today Cash costs in dollars

Today Cash's highest reported APR is 775% APR. Below is what that rate does to the amounts it actually lends, repaid over 12 monthly payments.

What $100–$1,500 costs at Today Cash's 775% APR over 12 monthly payments
You borrowMonthlyTotal repaidInterest
$100$65$777$677
$800$518$6,216$5,416
$1,500$971$11,655$10,155

At 775%, a $100 balance accrues about $65 in interest every month. Any payment below that figure leaves you owing more than you started with, however long you pay.

Standard amortization at the published ceiling rate; fees are not included, and your actual rate and term may differ. Run your own numbers in the payoff calculator.

Frequently asked questions

Can Today Cash take 15% of my paycheck?

Its agreement includes a voluntary wage-assignment clause it can invoke at default, threatening up to a 15% payroll deduction. You can revoke a wage assignment in writing at any time — send it to Today Cash and your payroll department, and keep a copy.

What is the APR on a Today Cash loan?

It is not shown before you sign; Trustpilot borrowers report around 775%. The APR box in your signed agreement is the reliable figure.

Is Today Cash legal in my state?

Today Cash publishes no excluded-states list, which puts the compliance burden on you. Check our state legality map and your state attorney general’s guidance before borrowing.

Is Today Cash a tribal loan?

Yes. Today Cash is a tribal lending brand owned by the Menominee Indian Tribe in WI. That means it lends under tribal law and claims sovereign immunity from your state's interest-rate cap, rather than holding a state lending license. It is also why its APR reaches ≈775% — far above the roughly 36% cap most states set for small loans. Whether the loan is enforceable where you live depends on your state.

What does a Today Cash loan cost?

Today Cash lends $100–$1,500 at ≈775% APR (reported — Today Cash does not publish its rate). At that rate, the total repaid on a loan run to term is several times the amount borrowed — check the total of payments in your agreement, not the monthly figure.

Is a Today Cash loan legal in my state?

It depends entirely on your state. High-cost tribal loans are effectively banned in nine states, where a loan above the rate cap can be void and not legally collectible, and restricted in many more. Today Cash claims tribal sovereign immunity from those caps — an argument courts have accepted in some cases and rejected in others. Check your state before you borrow, and especially before you pay a collector.

Independent registry: this lender did not pay to appear here and cannot pay to change the review. We take no lender money. How we score · Editorial standards

Today Cash $100–$1,500 · APR ≈775%
Compare