Tribal loans direct lender: who actually funds the loan
A direct lender is the company that actually funds and services your loan — as opposed to a lead generator or broker, which collects your application and sells it to whoever bids highest. With tribal loans, going direct matters: it means one company holds your data and one set of terms, rather than your information being scattered across dozens of sites.
Every lender below is a direct tribal lender — the tribe's own lending entity — not an aggregator. That does not make the loans cheap; it makes the relationship cleaner.
Many sites that rank for "tribal loans direct lender" are actually lead generators — including some that use a tribal-sounding name. A true direct lender names the specific tribe that owns it and links to that tribe's regulatory code. If a site won't tell you which single tribe funds the loan, it is probably selling your application.
Tribal loans from direct lenders, ranked 15 lenders scored on cost, terms, funding, complaints and legal standing
- ≈490%$300–$8006.0/10
Spotloan is one of the cheapest tribal lenders — but 'cheapest' still means up to 490% APR, and it uses simple daily interest, which rewards paying off early more than almost any competitor.
- Strongest point
- Simple daily interest — pay early and interest stops accruing that day.
- Biggest catch
- First loans run up to 490% APR; a $500 loan to term costs roughly $2,089.
- 334–549%$300–$5,0008.0/10
Uprova advertises a 34.5–35.99% APR on its homepage, then discloses rates of 333–549% in the loan agreements on record. That gap is the whole story.
- Strongest point
- Funds land within about 30 minutes of approval, 24/7.
- Biggest catch
- The 35.99% APR on the homepage is not the rate most borrowers get — documented agreements show 333–549%.
- 607.5–699%$200–$5,000
Big Picture Loans is the rare tribal lender that actually won sovereign immunity in a federal appeals court — which is exactly why its up-to-699% loans are so hard to challenge.
- Strongest point
- Larger loans than most tribal lenders — up to $5,000 for returning borrowers.
- Biggest catch
- Court filings document 607.5–693.2% APRs; payments reportedly do not reduce principal.
- 73.7–405%$500–$3,0004.5/10
Mobiloans is a line of credit, not an installment loan — its two-part fee structure hides an effective APR up to 405%, and whether its arbitration clause binds you now depends on which federal circuit you're in.
- Strongest point
- Revolving line of credit — draw only what you need, up to $3,000.
- Biggest catch
- Effective APR up to 405%; the two-part fee structure is hard to compare.
- 5
Plain Green Active
Chippewa Cree Tribe, Rocky Boy's Reservation · MT
3.0 of 10Full Plain Green review448–700%$200–$4,500Plain Green is one of the oldest and most-litigated tribal lenders — its Think Finance ties produced about $1 billion in relief, and loans made before June 2016 were cancelled outright.
- Strongest point
- A post-2016 restructure ("Plain Green 2.0") lowered some rates — unusual in this space.
- Biggest catch
- Documented APRs run 448–682%; a $700 loan can project to $3,686 repaid.
- 200–780%$300–$2,500
American Web Loan already paid one of the largest tribal-lending settlements ever — $141 million in 2021 — yet it is still lending. If you borrowed between 2010 and 2020, part of your debt may already be gone.
- Strongest point
- One of the longest-running tribal lenders (since 2010), lends in ~45 states.
- Biggest catch
- APRs run roughly 200–780%; rates are not disclosed upfront.
- 476–570%$200–$2,5007.0/10
A federal appeals court threw out WithU Loans' arbitration clause in 2026 because it pointed to tribal law that did not yet exist — and the company claimed the right to invent it. That tells you how the structure works.
- Strongest point
- Same-day funding if you clear the wire/direct-deposit cutoffs.
- Biggest catch
- Effective APRs of roughly 476–597% documented in court filings.
- 419–841%$1,000–$3,7507.0/10
MaxLend gamifies its pricing — a 'Preferred Rewards' loyalty ladder is the only way down from 700%+ APR — and it excludes its own home state of North Dakota.
- Strongest point
- A published same-day funding cutoff (11:45 a.m. ET) — rare specificity.
- Biggest catch
- Court filings document APRs up to 841% (699.77% disclosed on one $400 loan); a 419% loan on $2,700 repaid about $9,000.
- 400–795%+$100–$2,5007.0/10
Court filings allege the Lac du Flambeau tribe keeps only 1–3% of Lendumo's lending revenue while a non-tribal company runs the operation. Lendumo is also the rebranded Amplify Funding.
- Strongest point
- Fast funding — next business day, or same-day real-time funding for later approvals.
- Biggest catch
- Effective APRs of roughly 400–795%+; rate not disclosed until after you apply.
- 325–725%$300–$3,0004.0/10
Bright Lending won't lend in its own home state of Montana — or any of the states that enforce rate caps hardest. It exports up-to-725% loans everywhere else.
- Strongest point
- Autopay and loyalty tiers cut the APR sharply — VIP Platinum can reach ~325%.
- Biggest catch
- First-time manual-pay borrowers face up to 725% APR — a $500 loan repays $2,944.
- 600–700%$300–$2,0006.5/10
Ascend Loans is serviced from an office park in Overland Park, Kansas — not from tribal land — which is the whole argument in the class action against it. It is Uprova's smaller sister brand.
- Strongest point
- Small starter loans ($300–$2,000) with an "Emerald Rewards" tier for repeat borrowers.
- Biggest catch
- Court filings put APRs above 600%, around 700% on a $400 loan; manual payers reportedly pay more.
- 400–795%$200–$2,5006.5/10
Little Lake Lending is the target of a Kelly Guzzo rent-a-tribe class action alleging rates as high as 795% — and it runs 'mirror' sites advertising a misleading 5.99% APR that has nothing to do with the real product.
- Strongest point
- Penalty-free early payoff — pay only accrued interest to the payoff date.
- Biggest catch
- Effective APRs commonly 400–500%, with class-action allegations up to 795%.
- 637–700%+$100–$1,5006.5/10
Crane Finance charges a $5 fee just to fund your loan the same day, advertises up to $15,000 for repeat borrowers, and is defending two separate federal RICO suits.
- Strongest point
- Unusually large loans for repeat borrowers — advertised up to $15,000.
- Biggest catch
- APRs around 700%+; cost disclosed only after approval.
- 260–780%$200–$5,0004.0/10
CreditCube starts first-time borrowers at a flat 779.97% APR and only lets the rate down — to a still-brutal 260% — if you keep borrowing. It is one of three lending brands the Big Valley Band runs.
- Strongest point
- Publishes its exact APR floor (259.94%) and ceiling (779.97%) — rare transparency.
- Biggest catch
- First-time borrowers pay the maximum 779.97% APR.
- 700–799%+$250–$2,0004.0/10
Explore Credit advertises a 5.99–35.99% APR, but its own complaint record documents effective rates above 700% — and it won't lend in Georgia even though it's run from an office in Atlanta, Georgia.
- Strongest point
- Long available term range (61 days to 72 months).
- Biggest catch
- Advertised 35.99% ceiling contradicted by complaints documenting 700%+ effective APR.
What these loans actually cost
APR is an abstraction until you put a number on it. Across the 15 lenders on this page with a sourced rate, the median APR ceiling is 700%. On $1,000 borrowed over 12 months that works out to roughly $586/month — $7,028 repaid in total, of which $6,028 is interest.
Change the amount, the rate or the term and the answer moves a long way. Run your own figures before you commit to anything on this page.
How this site works
We are an independent registry — not a lender, not a broker and not a lead generator. No brand on this page paid to be here, and no ranking position is for sale. We take no money from any lender and sell no applications.
Entries are built from the lender's own published disclosures, tribal corporate and lending-authority records, federal and state court filings, and CFPB, FTC and state regulator actions. Of the 143 brands in the full list of tribal lenders, 49 are confirmed lending, 66 sit on a watchlist pending verification, and 28 have shut down. Where a figure cannot be sourced we leave it blank rather than estimate it — which is why some entries are deliberately incomplete.
Read how we score lenders and our editorial standards.
How we picked this list
Direct tribal lenders (the tribe's own lending entity), ranked by our score, then by demand. Data is verified against each lender's own disclosures, regulator alerts and court records — see our methodology and editorial standards. Rates change constantly; confirm the figure in your own loan agreement before you borrow.
Frequently asked questions
Are tribal loans direct lender only?
The real ones are — a genuine tribal lender is the tribe's own lending LLC. But many sites advertising "tribal loans direct lender" are lead generators that sell your application. Confirm the specific owning tribe before applying.
Why choose a direct lender over a broker?
A direct lender means one company holds your personal and bank data and one set of terms. A broker or lead generator can sell your application to many lenders, multiplying the calls, emails and data exposure — without lowering the rate.
This ranking is one of several we publish, each cut a different way — by amount, by credit profile, by loan type. See the full picture: which tribal lenders score highest, and on what?