Lendumo logo

Lendumo Active

Lac du Flambeau Band (LDF Holdings) · lending since 2020

Court filings allege the Lac du Flambeau tribe keeps only 1–3% of Lendumo's lending revenue while a non-tribal company runs the operation. Lendumo is also the rebranded Amplify Funding.

2.8/10 TribalLenders score
Cost & transparency
1.5
Terms & flexibility
4.0
Funding speed
7.0
Complaint record
2.5
Legal standing
2.5

Lendumo at a glance

Owning tribe
Lac du Flambeau Band (LDF Holdings)
Lending since
2020
Loan amounts
$100–$2,500
APR range (documented)
400–795%+checked Jul 2026
Website
lendumo.com

What a Lendumo loan really costs

Lendumo lends up to $2,000 for qualified first-time borrowers (up to $2,500 returning), repaid over weeks to a few months. It does not disclose the APR until after you apply; effective rates run roughly 400–795%+.

Minnesota's attorney general documented a $1,398 loan that was scheduled to repay $8,593 at 795%, and an Illinois filing describes a $1,300 loan set to repay $5,954.

As with most steep tribal schedules, paying 'as scheduled' costs three to five times the principal because payments barely reduce the balance — one borrower reported that just $0.86 of a $216 bi-weekly payment went to principal.

There is no prepayment penalty and one free three-day extension per loan, so paying off early is the only effective escape. ACH revocation is honored, but with about a three-business-day lag.

Where it's less bad
  • Fast funding — next business day, or same-day real-time funding for later approvals.
  • No prepayment penalty, plus one free 3-day courtesy extension per loan.
  • Pre-October 2023 loans were cancelled in the ~$1.4B Fitzgerald settlement.
What to watch
  • Effective APRs of roughly 400–795%+; rate not disclosed until after you apply.
  • Payments barely touch principal — one borrower saw $0.86 of a $216 payment applied.
  • Does not report to the major bureaus, so on-time payments will not build credit.
  • Named in active rent-a-tribe class actions in Illinois and Indiana.

Skip Lendumo if…

Where Lendumo lends

Lendumo's excluded-states list has grown as litigation and attorney-general action landed — Illinois, Indiana and Minnesota were added after the earlier, shorter list.

By its own terms, Lendumo does not lend to residents of:

Does Lendumo report to credit bureaus?

Lendumo does not report to Equifax, Experian or TransUnion, so on-time payments will not build credit; only a default sent to collections would surface. There is no public confirmation of which alternative bureau it uses to underwrite.

Who actually owns and runs Lendumo

Lendumo is operated by Niswi, LLC ('niswi' is Ojibwe for 'three'), a commercial enterprise of the Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa in Wisconsin, under the holding company LDF Holdings. It is the rebrand of Amplify Funding, renamed on February 27, 2020.

Court filings allege the day-to-day operator is a non-tribal company, Soaren Management, LLC, and that the tribe receives only about 1–3% of lending revenue — the core allegation against the 'tribal economic development' justification.

Niswi is one of roughly 20 LDF brands (Lendgreen, Makwa, Brightstar, Sky Trail Cash and others) sharing the same holding and settlement structure.

Lawsuits and the $1.4B settlement

The Fitzgerald v. Wildcat class settlement covers LDF-brand loans (including Lendumo/Niswi) made between July 24, 2016 and October 1, 2023: roughly $1.4 billion in loan debt cancelled plus a $37.35 million cash fund, administered at consumerloansettlement.com.

The full court record for Lendumo →

What Lendumo costs in dollars

Lendumo's highest documented APR is 795% APR. Below is what that rate does to the amounts it actually lends, repaid over 12 monthly payments.

What $100–$2,500 costs at Lendumo's 795% APR over 12 monthly payments
You borrowMonthlyTotal repaidInterest
$100$66$797$697
$1,300$863$10,358$9,058
$2,500$1,660$19,920$17,420

At 795%, a $100 balance accrues about $66 in interest every month. Any payment below that figure leaves you owing more than you started with, however long you pay.

Standard amortization at the published ceiling rate; fees are not included, and your actual rate and term may differ. Run your own numbers in the payoff calculator.

Frequently asked questions

Is Lendumo the same as Amplify Funding?

Yes. Lendumo is the rebranded Amplify Funding — the operation was renamed on February 27, 2020, and existing Amplify customers were migrated to Lendumo. It is run by Niswi, LLC under the Lac du Flambeau Band.

Do I still owe my Lendumo loan?

If your LDF-brand loan was made between July 24, 2016 and October 1, 2023, it was cancelled under the Fitzgerald v. Wildcat settlement (roughly $1.4B in debt), with claims handled at consumerloansettlement.com. Loans outside that window may still be owed — check the settlement site and your own paperwork.

What is the real APR on a Lendumo loan?

Lendumo does not disclose the rate until after you apply; effective APRs run roughly 400–795%+. Minnesota’s attorney general cited a $1,398 loan scheduled to repay $8,593 at 795%. Read your agreement’s APR box before signing.

How do I stop paying Lendumo?

You can revoke ACH authorization in writing (it is honored with about a three-day lag), but you still owe the debt. If your loan falls in the settlement window it may already be cancelled; otherwise, weigh early payoff (no penalty) against whether the rate is even enforceable in your state.

Is Lendumo a tribal loan?

Yes. Lendumo is a tribal lending brand owned by the Lac du Flambeau Band in WI. That means it lends under tribal law and claims sovereign immunity from your state's interest-rate cap, rather than holding a state lending license. It is also why its APR reaches 400–795%+ — far above the roughly 36% cap most states set for small loans. Whether the loan is enforceable where you live depends on your state.

What does a Lendumo loan cost?

Lendumo lends $100–$2,500 at 400–795%+ APR (documented — Lendumo does not publish its rate). Near the top of that range, the total repaid on a loan run to term is several times the amount borrowed — check the total of payments in your agreement, not the monthly figure.

Is a Lendumo loan legal in my state?

It depends entirely on your state. High-cost tribal loans are effectively banned in nine states, where a loan above the rate cap can be void and not legally collectible, and restricted in many more. Lendumo claims tribal sovereign immunity from those caps — an argument courts have accepted in some cases and rejected in others. Check your state before you borrow, and especially before you pay a collector.

Independent registry: this lender did not pay to appear here and cannot pay to change the review. We take no lender money. How we score · Editorial standards

Lendumo $100–$2,500 · APR 400–795%+
Compare